Bookish News


Why should you read the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews?

Dec 23, 2011

Why should you read the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews?

The Kate Daniel series by Ilona Andrews is the best series I’ve read this year!

Now, you have to take into account that Ilona Andrew’s has been on my radar for a couple of years, but I never purchased one of her books. The covers were interesting, the titles of the books were catchy, but for some reason I never picked up a single title in the series. I was clueless to even the characters in the books. That being said, everything changed last month when on a fellow blogger’s book discussion, Ilona’s Kate, was mentioned. The Kate Daniels series was not the subject of the discussion that night. In fact it was a very subtle reference to “Kate”, said in exited and breathless tones, between the two bloggers that had me asking “Kate, who?” I think my question shocked them to no end, how could I not know who “Kate” was. Let’s just say that after that book chat, I decided to learn more about this mysterious Kate.

The Kate Daniels series is an urban fantasy series, written by Ilona Andrews, a pseudonym for a super husband-and-wife writing team.

The series takes place in Atlanta, but this is not your Mama’s Atlanta, let me tell you. It’s an Atlanta that many would not recognize in a hundred years. You don't get to choose when to turn on the lights or not, that decision is made for you. Existence teeters on the whims of magic. You’ll find your garden variety of creatures, some of which have been redefined, making them better. The Kate Daniels series in not a masquerade, magic is in your face and in a big way, hence the titles that begin with the word magic. The tone Andrews sets to the series run the gamut, and it works beautifully. The super natural elements keep you on your toes and in awe. The balance of Urban and Fantasy is splendidly done, creating a world that is both believable and enchanting. For those romance seekers out there, you are in for a ride. A love story unfolds as we turn every page, tastefully executed with all the necessary components needed in a romance. Andrews is crafty in her storytelling, bespelling us with characters and cultures oozing with lore from distant lands, rich in history and magic. The characters are multi-layered and fantastic; the conversations in the series are smart, witty, creative, and very just WOW.

If those aren’t reasons enough to read the series, see why Kate and Curran take the cake.
Kate Daniels is not your run of the mill supernatural character. From the first book she will be pulling on your heart strings and not in the simpering damsel in distress capacity. No, our Kate takes on a whole new approach,. (Yes, I’ve decided Kate belongs to us all, her cheerleading squad, if you like.) In fact it’s not just one thing that will endear Kate to you, more than likely everyone will have a different reason, if you were to ask them. She has mad skills when it comes to kicking ass, a must in any UF series. She is fearless, but in no way is she conceited. Her capacity to care about others is staggering, and her inability to see just how special she is, is bewildering. She is the friend everyone wishes they had, loyal and trustworthy beyond a shadow of doubt.

In every book it becomes more and more obvious that Kate will be in the history books as one of the best in UF realms. This series has a little of everything and it works. In fact this book is magic to its readers.
Kate has this amazing ability to wield magical words. Anytime during the series that Kate says these words, you will find yourself reacting exactly like the characters in the book, frazzled and dazzled. I found myself rereading the pages over and over, just to have the same feeling every time I read them. (I’m certifiable, I know). If you are a fan or plan to read the series you will understand exactly what I mean.

Now, on to Curran Lennart, the Beast Lord! Curran is your typical no nonsense Alpha male. He rules his kingdom with an iron will, no holds barred. He is one of the most powerful forces in Atlanta, and will stop at nothing to protect his pack. His decisions are always for the better of the pack and his word is law. Cross him and you will be faced with his army, his pack. Yet, as the series grows by leaps and bounds we learn far more about what makes this Lord of Beast tick. His feelings for our "in your face" Kate take us on a journey all through Atlanta. Curran will surprise you every time with his answers to a variety of questions asked by both readers and Kate. To get Curran to talk is the equivalent of pulling teeth. Ultimately, he chooses to speak and then you're floored by the few words he chooses to speak in your presence. "Oh, my gawd!"the depth of character! Many of you will be left breathless trying to describe him. Curran was a keeper even from the first book, but he just won "Man of the Year" after I read Magic Slays. Thank goodness we get to read his POV's every now and then.

Ilona Andrews has created a world rich in UF nutrients for lovers of the genre. I have been caught in Kate's world and I don't want to leave. Who needs electricity anyway?

I've decided not to include my reviews for each book, I think I've given you an earful already as to why you HAVE to read this series. 

The following is a list of the books in the series:

 A Questionable Client (Kate Daniels, #0.5) 
 Magic Bites (Kate Daniels, #1) 
 Magic Burns (Kate Daniels, #2) 
 Magic Strikes (Kate Daniels, #3) 
 Magic Mourns (Kate Daniels, #3.5) 
 Magic Bleeds (Kate Daniels, #4) 
 Magic Dreams (Kate Daniels, #4.5) 
 Magic Slays (Kate Daniels, #5) 
 Magic Tests (Kate Daniels, #5.3) 
 Magic Gifts (Kate Daniels, #5.4) 
 Gunmetal Magic (Kate Daniels, #5.5) 

           Retribution Clause (Kate Daniels, #5.6) 
           An Ill-Advised Rescue (Kate Daniels, #5.8) 

 Magic Rises (Kate Daniels, #6) 
 Magic Steals (Kate Daniels, #6.5) 
 Magic Breaks (Kate Daniels, #7) 
 Magic Shifts (Kate Daniels, #8) 
 Magic Stars (Kate Daniels, #8.5, Grey Wolf, #1) 
 Magic Binds (Kate Daniels, #9) 
 Iron and Magic (Kate Daniels #9.5)
 Magic Triumphs (Kate Daniels #10)  Coming August 28, 2018

Visit the Ilona Andrews site for more amazing in depth details 
to all your favorite characters
 and titles in other series!

To Visit Kate's site

*Note this post will be updated with each new book in the series. 

No comments

Post a Comment

I just love hearing what you have to say. Drop me a few lines. 8-D

Search This Blog

Footer Links

Blog Archive